A transformational journey into health and feelin' sexy!

2013-11-12 20.42.55Fatburger… is as good for keto as it sounds!
You would think that a burger joint with the word “fat” in it and a high fat diet going hand in hand would be a no-brainer, however… I am still epicly impressed with Fatburger! One night we were feeling a bit lazy so we figured we’d have some burgers. I was getting a little tired of McDonald’s crap (especially because it’s literally in the same building where we live), and since I’d never been there before, we decided to give Fatburger a try. Once I read through their menu and they said that you can order any burger with no bun and they will wrap it in lettuce for you, and add on to that that they have awesome burger additions such as guacamole and egg… I was sold! I ordered the old style bacon cheddar burger with egg and no bun… and this is what I got: (top right)

I know the image quality is not the best, but they practically made a bun out of lettuce, wrapped it in a nice little paper wrap so you can hold it… it was actually edible as a burger instead of the usual bunless burger where you have to drag out the old fork and knife! And aside from presentation, it was delicious! Definitely going to be visiting fat burger again!

Fail Muffins 😦
2013-11-17 15.18.40Someone on /r/keto posted a link to a blueberry muffin recipe the other day, and it sounded pretty good! Since I’m not a huge fan of blueberries, I decided to modify it and turn it into a chocolate strawberry muffin recipe. I added 1 tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder, 2tbsp of chocolate protein powder, replaced the stevia with 2 tbsp of Splenda, and replaced the unsweetened almond milk with unsweetened chocolate almond milk. And of course, replaced the blueberries with strawberries. The whole apartment smelled amazing for the entire time they were in the oven, and I was super excited to try them… and then I pulled them out of the oven and…. this is what they looked like: (look left)

They definitely didn’t look muchΒ  like muffins… and somehow despite adding chocolate almond milk, chocolate protein powder, and cocoa powder, they had absolutely no chocolate taste to them at all. They were a bit too dense, but to be honest I’ve found that to be a trend when trying to bake keto foods with almond and/or coconut flour… unfortunately they just don’t rise the same way that regular flour does. They tasted just okay… edible, but not something I’d make again. Even my cat took it upon himself to toss one into his water dish 😦

Progress Report
So this week I am officially back on my way to my goal! Not only have I lost 2lbs, but I was finally able to beat my rowing time from October 28th (2000m @ 11:49)… twice! 2000m @ 11:22 on November 13th, and 11:15 on November 15th. I think my times may begin to go up for the next week or two as I’m going to try and focus on increasing the distance before I need to take a break. This usually leaves me winded and impacts the over all time because I need to take more breaks after my initial “burst”, but I think if I can keep pushing it, eventually I will be able to do the entire 2000m in a single shot without needing breaks at all (which ideally will give me an awesome overall time).

I’ve decided to give myself a small reward once I reach 20lbs down, I’ll be sure to post a picture when I do! πŸ™‚

 

Keto on, friends!

Dani

Weight Loss So Far: 17.6lbs
Weight Loss to Go: 64.2lbs
Fat Fashion Fund: $68

Comments on: "Fatburger and Fail Muffins" (2)

  1. Ayden Storm said:

    Not really a fan of muffins either way, but I’ve seen people generally not liking almond flour products, especially as a pizza crust alternative. I can’t wait to make that chicken/cheese pizza crust. I’ve got the ingredients, just need to buy me a spring form pan tomorrow, since my mother won’t let me use hers.

  2. Kayleigh Maijala said:

    I’ve found adding some baking soda and ACV instead of lemon juice creates a gorgeous rise in my baked goods.

    Also, some ground flax retains moisture in my muffins. Try my recipe next time if you’d like: http://doesnojustice.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/infinity-muffins-hello-again/ πŸ™‚ (You can leave the JLS out if you don’t have it.)

Leave a comment